Prepping for Homeschool: toddler time

Not all my readers are homeschoolers, but, as some of you are, this one’s for you!

Being that it is the middle of August, it’s time to get ready for the homeschool year.  We are going on our fourth year homeschooling and this year I have a 4th grade and a 7th grader (woah!).  I also have – a 21 month old.

Last year, the baby would sleep while we taught in the morning.  I doubt that will be happening this year, so I need to be pretty organized and have a plan for the little squirt.

So, the first thing I am going to do is organize a BUSY BOX for him. The busy box has to be special to the homeschooling time, or it will lose its magic. So, ideally the items in the box cannot be used outside of homeschool time.

I have included some busy boxes from around the internet (with credits).

bb2
This is a simple one. I like the shells!

You could go really crazy with this concept and create an entire CORNER for this purpose.  As we have 5 people in the house, I will be keeping it small. Keep in mind, some of these items are specific to our little boy’s interests, but you can adjust as preferred.

bb3
This is from teachingmama.org.  Threading buttons – great fine motor practice.

In my busy box, I will put:

  • play doh
  • crayons
  • big pad of white paper
  • pom-poms
  • books
  • matchbox cars
  • dry erase board
  • dice
  • matching cards

I am also going to make some things, including:

This monster themed color sorter!

This Montessori-style color book!

These roads in shapes (tell me this isn’t genious!) !

I know you have have had toddlers already have a ton of ideas!  Would you share one in the comments below?  I sure could use some more ideas!

 

 

 

 

In the BB I will include things like: stickers, crayons, pom poms, matching cards, matchbox cars, and a big pad of white paper.  I am also going to create a FUN CORNER for him with a table and books and age-appropriate puzzles.

I know a lot of my homeschool friends have toddlers in their homes.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Prepping for Homeschool: toddler time

  1. Rebecca Savelyev

    We would also include a piece of wood with nails partially hammered in and a hammer. A ruler with a small pencil, and rocks. Dominoes, marbles, rope, and pre-cut ribbon*. My kids all loved measuring fat lines on a file folder using the corresponding *ribbon. How about strips of paper and a small pair of safety scissors for them to practice snipping small snips.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

