Evaluating Your School Year

We have FOUR MORE WEEKS of school left (I know!) and I am shifting into the mode of wrapping up subject matter and thinking about how the year went. In general, I think the year went well.

This is our 5th year schooling from home, and to be honest, I never thought we would get this far. It took me so long to decide to homeschool, and then, after I began, one of things that gave me comfort was the thought that “I can stop at anytime.”  There were days where I thought: “What am I doing?” and even this year I have considered throwing in the towel. But here I am.

This is a great time for you to evaluate how your year went.

Let’s go back to the beginning of the year.

I have started making goals for both of my boys at the beginning of each year. This helps me have loose (and I like them really loose) expectations for them.

For my both my 4th and 7th graders, I set personal goals, spiritual and academic goals at the beginning of the year and about three weeks ago, I took a look to make sure we did some of them.

Let’s talk about them in further detail.

Academically speaking, I wanted my 7th grader to strengthen his skills in the areas of division, fractions and decimal work.  We were able to get to the first two in earnest, but just touch on the last one.  I also felt strongly that I needed to start exposing him to engineering science and until about 3 weeks ago, I had no idea how we were going to get there. Then a fellow homeschooler invited my boys to participate in this program run through the Department of Defense called Starbase. Both of my boys had a week-long experience using Computer Aided Drafting and Design applications and learning about the engineering design process.

check

For my 4th grader, I wanted him to improve his writing skills. He has dysgraphia, so writing in general is super tough and exhausting.  I employed a tutor one time a week this year to help him answer comprehension questions and write.  He has done a lot more this year than he would have with me alone.  And to my shagrin, he writes a lot more with her, than me.  At least it’s getting done.  She does use CANDY as a reward.

I also wanted him to start writing cursive and we just began that about 4 weeks ago.

Spiritually speaking, I wanted the younger to start praying out loud and I wanted my 7th grader to start having his own, individual time with God. He now reads every night before he starts his nighttime routine.

Some things that didn’t happen…and yes, there are definitely a few…

I wanted my 7th grader to write a biographical paper. We started to…but I don’t think we will finish it in time.

tryagain

One side note, is that although we didn’t set it as a goal, we read A LOT this year. We pushed through a ton of books and audio books.  Insert happy face.

Time to evaluate! How do you feel like your kids did?  What did they improve in? What do they need to make continual progress in?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

