All Natural Septic Treatment

I know.  That title is not very flashy.  But I am excited about the recipes I found online for treating your septic tank!

We are on town water, but have a septic tank for our toilets. We have had it pumped every few years since we moved into our home about fifteen years ago.  I have also purchased Rid-X every once in a while to flush down the toilet to keep things, uh, “moving.”

Let me explain a little more.

Septic tanks are like our guts.  If they get too plugged up with non-degraded waste, they back up.  For us that takes the form of gas, bloating, extra weight; you get the picture. So, our doctors say, “take a probiotic!”  Probiotics are foods or supplements that stimulate growth of healthy gut healing microorganisms.

In the same way, septic tank owners are encouraged to use septic treatments to inject healthy yeasts into the tank environment so as to break down the non-degraded waste sitting in the tank.

If you don’t take care of your gut, you’ll notice.

Similarly, if you don’t take care of your septic tank, YOU WILL NOTICE.

Septic backups are smelly, messy, destructive and expensive!

Now the average septic treatment can range in price anywhere from 15$ to 200$.  You are encouraged to do the lower end products 3-4 times a year.  That can add up.

So I found two recipes for homemade septic treatment that I really like.

An Easy Method to Make a Septic Tank Activator at Home

and

DIY Septic Tank Treatment

I decided to start with the first one because I didn’t have any rotten tomatoes.

1. I got out my pretty red quart pitcher and filled it with warm water.

2. Then I mixed in one packet’s worth of baking yeast, and stirred.

3. Then I added in approximately 2 cups of brown sugar and mixed well.  Almost good enough to eat.

It looks like this:

toilet

4. Then I poured it in the toilet and flushed.  (I will spare you from a picture of this though.)

Let me know if you give this a try!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

